The Planning Commission is an appointed body of citizen volunteers, authorized under Article 19, Chapter 160A of the North Carolina General Statutes, and established to serve as an advisory board on land use matters and other duties as assigned by the Town Council.  The Planning Department provides staff support for the Commission. The public may contact Elisabeth Webster, Planning Technician and Secretary to the Commission, for more information.

The Planning Commission's regular meetings are held on the third Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers located at 900 7th Ave - this schedule is amended as needed to accommodate holidays. The commission has a total of seven members, five (5) members must reside inside the Garner town limits and two (2) members must reside outside of the town limits in the extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ).

2019 Calendar & Membership Roster

Wednesday, January 23
Monday, February 18
Monday, March 18
Monday, April 15
Monday, May 20
Monday, June 17
Monday, July 15
Monday, August 19
Monday, September 16
Monday, October 21
Monday, November 18
Monday, December 16

 Member Address  Email  Daytime Phone  Evening Phone Term Expires 
Barbara Barat, Vice-Chair 810 Oakwater Dr
Garner, NC 27529 919-616-3882 919-616-3882 6/30/2020 
Jon Blasco 238 Pecan Harvest Dr
Garner, NC 27529 919-755-0046 919-325-2803 6/30/2021 
Dean Fox 430 Summers Walk Cir
Garner, NC 27529 919-816-6640 919-772-4258 6/30/2021
Vira Hogan 106 Gussett Dr
Garner, NC  27529 919-807-4842 919-779-4089 6/30/2021
Jim Hunnicutt, Chair 213 McNaughton Ct
Garner, NC 27529 919-201-3873 919-201-3873
Vang Moua*  2650 Wall Store Rd
Garner, NC 27529  919-707-6693 919-601-4178 6/30/2021
Ruth Strindberg-Howe* 500 Stronwood Ct
Garner, NC 27529  631-553-7311  631-553-7311 6/30/2020 

 *ETJ Member

Town Council liaison to the Planning Commission is Gra Singleton (

To download an application to serve on the Planning Commission, please click here.

For additional information, please contact the Town Clerk's office