An Overview 

The Town of Garner has a council-manager form of government with a mayor and five member Town Council. Elections for the office of council member are held at two-year intervals in November of odd-numbered years. Elections are non-partisan, and the mayor and council members are elected for four-year terms. The Council sets Town policies, enacts ordinances and appoints the town manager. The town manager administers the daily operations and programs of the municipal government through the department heads, other staff members and employees. 

* * *

Nominations Now Being Accepted for Stevens Award

Post Date:04/25/2019 10:31 AM

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 James R. Stevens Service to Garner Award and will be accepted through July 1, 2019.

Anyone who has made substantial, outstanding contributions to the Town of Garner over a significant period of years is eligible for the award, now in its 30th year. Emphasis should be placed on service rendered over an extended period of time rather than just what has been done in the preceding 12 months. Preference will be given to nominees with 20-plus years of service, in keeping with James Stevens’ tradition of service spanning decades.

Non-residents of Garner are eligible if the award committee deems that they meet the necessary criteria. The award also can be awarded posthumously.

The winner will be selected by a panel of judges that includes Town officials, a Garner Chamber of Commerce representative, a Stevens family member or descendant and other members of the community. An award ceremony will be held to honor the 2019 recipient(s) at the Aug. 20 Town Council meeting.

The recipient(s) will receive an engraved award, and an engraved plate bearing his or her name will be added to the plaque honoring previous winners.

Please click here for a form, or pick one up at Town Hall (900 7th Ave.), the Garner Chamber of Commerce, Wake County Southeast Regional Library, Garner Performing Arts Center and at other select locations around town.

A form can also be requested by emailing Rebecca Schlichter, deputy town clerk for the Town, at or by phoning her at (919) 773-4456. 

Return to full list >>